Saturday, July 12, 2014

Joovy Zoom 360 Stroller Review

Zoom Goes the Dynamite!

The Joovy Zoom was the stroller I chose for the 4th of July, 
and it was red hot!

Monday, June 30, 2014

Britax Affinity Free Colorpack!

Now that you've read the Britax Affinity review, check out their free colorpack promotion!


If you need help finding the best stroller for you, click on "Consultations" up top. And to see all of the 2014 stroller models, go to StrollerQueen.Net

Confirmation



She did it! After two years, her journey to Confirmation is complete. Congrats, Sweetie!








If you need help finding the best stroller for you, click on "Consultations" up top. And to see all of the 2014 stroller models, go to StrollerQueen.Net

Britax Affinity Stroller Review

Fashion Forward, and Reverse! Luxury Stroller


We've been testing out the Britax Affinity for the past few months in a variety of situations.

Monday, June 23, 2014

Baby Jogger Vue Review

Baby Jogger Vue Reversible Umbrella Stroller



School getting out for summer means different things different people,

depending on your point of Vue.

But from the Vue point of children, it means unbridled joy.

And so we capture it, from the point of vue, of the Baby Jogger Vue.



Tuesday, June 3, 2014

Flowers for the Homeless




For my DD's Confirmation project, she decided to reach out to the homeless. She made up baggies of snacks, and toiletries.

Sometimes, Life just throws us the funnest surprises!

I went to pick up my son from Boy Scouts tonight; pretty routine. Except when I tried to pull into the school parking lot, two Security Guards stopped me, and started quizzing me...why was I here, what was I doing, etc. I told them, and then I said, "Why are YOU guys here? You aren't usually. What's up?"

They said there was a political rally going on, for a Congressional Candidate. "Ah, so you're here to protect him", I said. "Her", the guard corrected me. And then it dawned on me. "Wait", I said, is it Marianne Williamson? It IS Marianne, isn't it? WOW." I've seen all the yard signs, but I haven't been paying much attention.



Monday, June 2, 2014

Enter to win a free VIP Family ticket to Club MomMe SpringFest!

It's almost here, gang! Everything you ever wanted to know about having a baby, even if you didn't know you needed to know it! Plus, giveaways galore! Strollers, car seats, carriers, diaper bags, play yards, you  name it! And it's all here in fabulous Huntington Beach in the OC this week-end! And guess what, you can enter here to win a free ticket!

Sunday, June 1, 2014

Stroller Friendly Hikes in So Cal

If you are local to Socal, or visiting, these are some really cool stroller hikes. Lake Hollywood? Who knew? Not me, and I worked there for years!

Club MomMe Spring Fest is next week-end!

Be there or be square!
 
 


If you need help finding the best stroller for you, click on "Consultations" up top. And to see all of the 2014 stroller models, go to StrollerQueen.Net

Thursday, May 8, 2014

Gilbert


 As I was driving to pick up my daughter from school today, a kid sailed past me on his skateboard. And this was sitting on the front of it.

But not for long. The kid picked him up and threw him at me, and kept skating along. So "Gilbert" got into the passenger seat.

Hee hee, I thought it would be fun to take him to my DD's school. And it was. When the kids saw him, they jumped and screamed. "Wicked intense", said one boy. "Yeah, I'm sitting in the back", said DD.

Now she thought she would have some fun with her brothers. She asked if they wanted to see Gilbert. "Who is Gibert, a zombie?" asks SP 2.0. Where he gets this, I don't know. But he was gleeful that he was correct, or, well, nearly. A ghoul is close enough, I guess.


He rushes outside to find "Gilbert". And here he is.

SP 2.0 was taken aback. He slammed the car door. But he didn't realize that his brother was right behind him, with his hand in the door.

"OPEN THE DOOR!!!!!!" came the blood curdling scream. And I do mean blood. Spurting out everywhere. More than I have seen since, well, when he was hit by the car.  Don't worry, I was cleaning and wrapping and applying pressure, instead of taking pictures.

Still debating on whether stitches are warranted. How does one ever know?

My reverie is interrupted by "Mom, get rid of Gilbert! He's cursed"!

And how was your day?
 

 
 
 
 If you need help finding the best stroller for you, click on "Consultations" up top. And to see all of the 2014 stroller models, go to StrollerQueen.Net

Thursday, April 24, 2014

New Federal Safety Standards for Baby Carriers

CPSC Approves New Federal Safety Standard for Soft Infant and Toddler Carriers
Hazards addressed include infant falls, structure/fit and position issues, strap and stitching/seam issues.
April 15, 2014
Release Number: 14-147
WASHINGTON, D.C. – To prevent deaths and injuries to infants and children, the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC) has approved a new federal mandatory standard intended to improve the safety of soft infant and toddler carriers. The Commission voted unanimously in favor of the standard (3 to 0) on March 21, 2014.
A soft infant and toddler carrier is normally made of sewn fabric construction, designed to hold a full-term infant from 7 pounds to toddlers up to 45 pounds in an upright position. The carrier allows a child to be carried in close proximity to the caregiver on their front, back or hip. Slings and framed carriers are excluded from this standard and are covered by separate voluntary standards.
The new federal standard incorporates by reference the most recent voluntary standard developed by ASTM International (ASTM F2236-14), Standard Consumer Safety Specification for Soft Infant and Toddler Carriers, without modification.  The mandatory soft infant and toddler carrier standard becomes effective on September 29, 2014, and applies to all soft infant and toddler carriers manufactured or imported on or after that date.
The new safety standard addresses reported hazards associated with soft infant and toddler carriers, including:
  • Infant falls
  • Structure, fit and position issues
  • Strap issues
  • Stitching and seam issues.
CPSC has received about 125 incident reports related to soft infant and toddler carriers that occurred from January 1, 1999 through July 15, 2013. Four of those incidents resulted in fatalities.
The Commission is required by The Danny Keysar Child Product Safety Notification Act, Section 104(b) of the Consumer Product Safety Improvement Act of 2008 (CPSIA), to issue consumer product safety standards for durable infant or toddler products. In the past 5 years, the Commission has approved new federal safety standards for children’s products, including full-size cribs, non-full-size cribs, play yards, baby walkers, baby bath seats, children’s portable bed rails, toddler beds, infant swings, bassinets and cradles, hand-held infant carriers, bedside sleepers, and strollers. 

If you need help finding the best stroller for you, click on "Consultations" up top. And to see all of the 2014 stroller models, go to StrollerQueen.Net

Recall! Summer Infant Video Monitors

From the CPSC:

Summer Infant Expands Recall to Replace Video Monitor Rechargeable Batteries Due to Burn Hazard
The batteries used in the video baby monitors can overheat and rupture.


 
 
 
Consumers should stop using this product unless otherwise instructed. It is illegal to resell or attempt to resell a recalled consumer product.
Recall date: April 23, 2014
Recall number: 14-156
Enlarge
  • Label on Back of Battery with Battery Number S/N JNS150A
    1 of 2 photos
    Label on Back of Battery with Battery Number S/N JNS150A
  • Slim and Secure™ Video Monitor Model 02805
    2 of 2 photos
    Slim and Secure™ Video Monitor Model 02805

Recall Summary

Name of product:
Rechargeable batteries used in Summer Infant video monitors
Hazard:
The battery in the handheld video monitor can overheat and rupture, posing a burn hazard to consumers.
Consumer Contact:
Summer Infant at (800) 426-8627 anytime or online at www.summerinfant.com/alerts/battery-recall for information on battery replacement.
Report an Incident Involving this Product

                        Recall Details                    

Units
About 800,000 batteries (about 58,800 were recalled in February 2011)
Description
The recall involves rechargeable batteries in Summer Infant handheld color video monitors. The rechargeable batteries are about 1 ½” tall by 2 ¼” wide and are ¼” thick, black, and are marked with TCL on the lower right corner of the battery.  Monitors are sold with a matching camera and A/C adaptors. Batteries will have one of these letter and number combinations in the beginning of the serial number on the back of the battery:

Battery numbers are:

S/N: JNN-S150AS/N:JNS150-BAS/N:JNS150A
S/N: JNN-S150BS/N:JNS150-BB 
S/N: JNN-S150CS/N:JNS150-BC 

Monitors are:

Monitor NameModel Number
Baby Touch®02000, 02000Z
Baby Touch®  Plus28520
Best View®28030, 28030Z, 28035, 28280Z
Best View®  Choice28460
Complete Coverage®28040
Dual Coverage™28510
MultiView™28490
Peek®  Plus02230
Private Label Baby Sight3927000H11/A, 3927003H12
Safe Sight™28530
Secure Sight®02040, 02040Z
Sleek & Secure®28270
Slim & Secure®02800, 02805
Slim & Secure®  Plus28450
Slim & Secure®  Plus Power Pack28590

 
Incidents/Injuries
Summer Infant has received 22 reports of overheated and ruptured batteries, including incidents of smoke and minor property damage.
Remedy
Consumers should remove the battery and contact Summer Infant for a replacement battery.  The monitor can continue to be used on AC power with the power cord.
Sold at
Mass merchants, including Babies “R” Us, online retailers and independent juvenile specialty stores, from about February 2010 through 2012 for between $150 to $350.
Importer
Summer Infant, of Woonsocket, R.I.
Manufactured in
China

If you need help finding the best stroller for you, click on "Consultations" up top. And to see all of the 2014 stroller models, go to StrollerQueen.Net

Saturday, April 19, 2014

Happy Easter Strollerland!

Here's hoping you find lots of eggs, and have a hopping good time!






If you need help finding the best stroller for you, click on "Consultations" up top. And to see all of the 2014 stroller models, go to StrollerQueen.Net

Wednesday, April 16, 2014

The Bumbleride Indie 4 is almost here!



Bumbleride Rolls Out Unique ‘Crossover’ Stroller for Urban-to-Outdoors Lifestyles

Innovative, Four-Wheel, Indie 4 Stroller Combines Compact, Lightweight Design with All-Terrain Capability

 

SAN DIEGO, CA (April 16, 2014) – Bumbleride’s newest addition to its popular “Indie” stroller family, the Indie 4 stroller, is now available for pre-orders through recommended http://www.bumbleride.com/images/products/strollers/indie4/gallery/indie4_gallery2_large.jpgretailers (expected shipping date May 31, 2014; retail $599 USD, $660 CAD, bassinet included).

“The Indie 4 represents our new crossover class of strollers,” says Bumbleride Marketing Director Kailin Weatherspoon. “Offering both rugged all-terrain functionality and lightweight, compact features, the Indie 4 adapts to the modern family's daily urban-to-off-road transitions.”

Enter to win the new Joovy Too Fold!

My Easter review is of the Joovy Too Fold! This is the updated Micralite, with a rear platform for another rider, or a giant shopping bag. And you can enter to win one of your own!


Tuesday, April 8, 2014

Sunday, April 6, 2014

New! Peg Perego Child Bike Seats

Sometimes people can surprise you. I'm strolling along at the Big City Mom's Biggest Baby Shower, and lo and behold, I stumble upon this? Peg Perego CHILD BIKE SEATS??? Who knew?


Now that is something I didn't see coming.

Thursday, April 3, 2014

The New Mutsy Igo is here!

                     Mutsy                                             
Today we introduce the new MUTSY collection in the United States! Below, you can read about the advantages of the new IGO, the improvements Mutsy has introduced to the EVO and the latest Mutsy must-have accessories.

Discover the IGO, Mutsy's latest luxury children's stroller. 
 
Mutsy is introducing America to the IGO, a combi-stroller that in addition to its stylish design is also unique due to the lightweight bassinet. This functional stroller has a fully adjustable seat and the frame be folded compactly with the seat mounted on it. The IGO seat has a unique design: it can be easily be transformed to an ergonomically correct sleeping position for infants younger than 6 months.

The IGO boasts the following features:
  • Exceptionally compact when folded and lightweight even with the seat
  • Only 19.2 lb
  • Easy and quick to transform from pram to stroller
  • Stable, comfortable and versatile
  • Ergonomically adjustable and reversible seat
  • Ergonomic sleeping position
  • Reclined carriage position: seat is suitable from birth
  • Very light bassinet, only 7.5 lb
  • Available in 5 colors
  • Igo frame available in black, silver and the urban nomad special edition

IGO color range collection 2014:
 
IGO Technical specifications:
 
Retail prices: IGO stroller (frame and seat) from 529 USD, IGO complete (combi-frame, seat and bassinet) from 799 USD.

For more info on the IGO please visit: mutsy.com/usen/igo

Discover the EVO and its new "reclined carriage position"
 
A new feature of the  Mutsy EVO is the stroller’s “reclined carriage position”. This means that in addition to the existing three settings, the backrest now has a fourth, lower setting that is almost horizontal to the seat. This creates a safe, ergonomic and comfortable sleeping position for infants younger than 6 months.

The EVO boasts the following features:
  • Easy to fold
  • Exceptionally compact when folded and lightweight even with the seat,
  • Only 18.0 lb
  • Unique swivel/lock system on front wheels
  • Roomy bassinet
  • Ergonomically adjustable and reversible seat
  • Reclined carriage position: seat is suitable from birth
  • Integrated foot support
  • Choice of black, silver frame and the urban nomad black special edition
  • Choice of 7 stylish colors

EVO color range collection 2014:
 
Retail prices: EVO stroller (frame and seat) from 399 USD, EVO complete (combi-frame, seat and bassinet) from 599 USD.

For more info on the EVO please visit: mutsy.com/usen/evo

‘Must haves’ – the new Mutsy accessories
 
The new Mutsy IGO comes with a large range of handy accessories such as a step-up board, a handy cup holder and a spacious and improved shopping basket, a UV cover for the seat, and a handy click-on parasol. For a complete overview, please visit: IGO accessories. The EVO accessories range now includes a step-up board, a UV cover for the seat, the click-on parasol and the foot bag.

Special edition: The Urban Nomad 
 
The Urban Nomads carry laptops and smartphones and live and work in urban areas. Instead of hiring office space they prefer to drop by a coffee bar to work there quietly. They have flexible jobs and are mobile, switching one apartment for the next. They aspire to discover the world and raise their children in a challenging multicultural and changing environment, which involves a number of practical aspects. These trendsetters are environmentally aware and are always on the lookout for sustainable and mobile solutions without compromising the comfort and wellbeing of their babies or themselves.

Emphasizing ergonomics and flexibility, a trendsetting design that is compact, lightweight and easy to store and with natural colors and trendy leather finish, this URBAN NOMAD edition meets all demands.
 
If you need help finding the best stroller for you, click on "Consultations" up top. And to see all of the 2014 stroller models, go to StrollerQueen.Net